Notes to My Firstborn Part 2

Beloved Child,

Thought I’d let you in on some of the joys and sorrows of our first five months together. Upon writing this, you are 21 weeks in the womb. I felt you move for the first time last week–Saturday, July 30, 2011. Your movement felt like butterfly wings tickling my tummy ever so lightly. Outside of the moment I realized you existed, it has been the most joyous event of our time together.

When I told your Mimi about the pregnancy, she remarked, “Enjoy every moment of this, Jan.” And for the first six weeks, I did. (This turned out to be two weeks, as you were four weeks in-the-womb before I even knew you existed!) Then Easter Sunday hit…April 24, 2011. You were six-weeks-old to the day, and that’s when things got interesting.

“Morning” sickness hit. For me, morning sickness lasted all day, everyday. At 21 weeks and 2 days, it is still holding on–but just barely. I have never been so sick for so long. Needless to say, the “enjoy every moment” flew out the window. Your momma is NOT a good sick person. I pray that when you are caring for me in my old age, you treat me with the same tenderness and patience your daddy used during my pregnancy!

Everyone had suggestions. I tried every single one of them. NOTHING worked…nothing. It was a “beautiful” time of dependence upon God and your daddy. I came to the end of myself, which though uncomfortable, can be just what the doctor ordered. Remember that when everything in your life falls apart.

There were two things that worked “best”…though not well. First, was eating every 90 minutes. Alas, I could not stand food, so that was tough. The second was bubble wrap. I was able to lose my misery in the delightful, rhythmic popping of bubble wrap.

These are the foods I ate most frequently while you were in the womb:

  • hamburger patties cooked well done and smothered in ketchup – even at my sickest, this was like manna from heaven
  • fruit, fruit, and more fruit – watermelon, pineapple, grapes, apples, bananas, strawberries, blueberries, and blackberries
  • humus and cucumbers – for two weeks I ate nothing BUT humus and cucumbers
  • oatmeal – every morning for 8 weeks your daddy served me oatmeal in bed
  • blueberry yogurt
  • pepperoni pizza
  • peanut butter – crunchy
  • brocoli and mashed potatoes – they had to be mixed…yummy
  • steak fries smothered in ketchup
  • chips and salsa

These are the foods I once loved, but could not stomach for weeks-on-end:

  • chicken
  • eggs
  • toast

So, at 21 weeks, food is no longer the enemy/friend that it used to be. It will be interesting to see if you develop any preferences based on our time together!

2 thoughts on “Notes to My Firstborn Part 2

  1. What a great memory to share with baby! I am with you on the eggs. I couldn’t tolerate them again until James was around 2 years old! Crazy! Still don’t enjoy the smell of a pomegranate candle I used to love.

Leave a Reply

