29 Weeks Pregnant

Sonogram Week!

  • Movement: I feel Sweet Pea more and more. The movements are getting stronger. Phil is still unable to feel him regularly.
  • Sleep: Still getting up only once– night (thank you, Jesus.) Alas, my dreams are getting vivid…and creepy.
  • What I miss: Waking up early (before 5) and having the morning all to myself. I opt for sleep these days…getting up around 6:30, or whenever Phil can drag me out of bed. I know…never thought the words “drag me out of bed” would be used to describe me…Miss Morning Glory.
  • Cravings: Mashed potatoes – I had them almost every dinner this week. Mmmmm.
  • Symptoms: The back aches have begun. My doctor gave (i.e. sold) me a great contraption to ease the burden of my pendulous belly. It looks like a torture device, but feels heavenly. It goes over my shoulders, under my belly, and gives firm support to the small of my back. (Glad I still have something that can be considered small.)
  • Belly button: Okay, I’ve heard from several others who did not have a popped-belly-button. Yea! In my ignorance, I figured it was just part of the gig. I’m happy to know I’m not a freak. (Side note, I’m pretty ignorant on most of the changes that “should” occur. Phil and I opted to NOT read “What to Expect When You’re Expecting.” I tend to be a bit obsessive about “this is the norm” sort of books.)
  • Best moment this week: SEEING the baby kick in the sonogram. It was unreal. I know that Sweet Pea has been kicking all along, but I SAW his little leg kick my tummy at the same time I felt it. Baby Love REALLY is kicking. It was an amazing moment…my favorite thus far of the entire pregnancy. Oh, and that leg…Crawford all the way…big, thick, STRONG.
  • Biggest challenge this week: Fielding all of the advice that is coming my way. Whew.
  • Size: According to the doctor, Sweet Pea is 2 pounds 10 ounces! This is excellent as “he” is right on the average line. (This means my diabetes has not been a factor, thus far, in “over-feeding” the wee one. Of course, I’ve not begun the insulin-resistant portion of the pregnancy. That adventure should be right around the bend. Of course, I am under EXCELLENT care and constant supervision-thanks to Dr. Higby AND Phil.)
  • Oh, and you should see the thigh on our baby. Thick, thick, thick. You might be able to make it out in the sonogram. “His” leg is right in front of his face…yes, that gorgeous appendage that resembles a tree trunk.

 

4 thoughts on “29 Weeks Pregnant

  1. You look wonderful and glowing Jan. When you look at Baby Love’s profile, do you see a Crawford or a Tessier? My granddaughter’s profile was obviously her daddy’s, even when she was sucking her thumb during the ultrasound. So cute. Do you have the option of having a 3D ultrasound? Are you registered any where yet? Please let me know if you are.

    Rebecca (cousin-in-law)

  2. Heather – we refer to Baby Love/Sweet Pea as “he” though have no real idea. I believe our bundle is a he, which may really offend her when “she” pops out!

  3. Hi Rebecca,
    I think the baby has my nose and definitely my legs. Let’s hope everything else is Phil’s! I am registered at Babies R Us and Amazon. Thanks for asking!

Leave a Reply

