Real Simple Beauty

Media…love/hate. I grew up a lover of TV, magazines, movies, music…all things media. I enjoyed the escape, the fantasy, the fun! Not so much now. Media and I broke up. We still enjoy getting together every now again. But, for the most part, media and I have come to a parting of the ways. In our home, we don’t have cable, newspaper, nor magazine subscriptions. We do this purposely, as we long to live in simplicity and truth…media, for better or worse, drags me and my thoughts into a world of deception that breaks my heart.

I recently received the gift of a couple of copies of one of my favorite magazines, “Real Simple.” As far as media goes, I feel like this does the least damage to my heart…ooops. Think again. I was struck by the clarity of the messages that hit me in the first six pages…before I even made it to the table of contents, I was bombarded with the following:

  • Clinique…even better eyes – “Works on dark circles.”
  • Clarisonic – “We promise to transform  your skin.”
  • Lancome Paris – “Our vision of skin perfection.”
  • Origins – “Life puts the wrinkles in. Nature helps take them out.”
  • L’oreal – “Our most intense nutrition for extraordinary skin repair.”

Sigh.

Here’s the deal – I am 41. I am aging. I actually expect that my hair will gray, my skin will wrinkle and blotch up a bit. Yeah? I will not beat the aging process. I will NOT. No one will. Seriously.  BUT, true beauty CAN be obtained as we age, and that’s what I’m shooting for! “Your beauty…should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” I Peter 3:3-4.

Here’s the rest of the deal, if we spend our time fighting wrinkles, fat, gray, and dark circles…how will we develop “the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit”? Seems to me, we could be in danger of losing our true beauty while chasing after the beauty of the world.

Granted, I did find some GREAT recipes and ideas for simplifying life.

Leave a Reply

