Bedtime Prayer

I have such fond memories of my bedtime prayer. I remember Mom teaching it to me…we were laying on her bed, she showed me how to hold my hands, and we prayed:

Now I lay me down to sleep.
I pray the Lord my soul to keep.
If I should die before I wake,
I pray the Lord my soul to take.

Yep…and I want to continue the family tradition of that classic bedtime prayer, BUT the “if I should die part” really bothers me. Eh. Solution came via a childhood friend, Jennifer Martin (thank you!). This is the version contained in a children’s CD she sent me:

Now I lay me down to sleep.
I pray the Lord my soul to  keep.
If the Lord should come before I awake,
Well…
We’ll run off to heaven and eat chocolate cake.

Perfection.

3 thoughts on “Bedtime Prayer

  1. That part always bothers me too…I’m going to introduce this version and see what Cristian thinks. Hope you don’t mind if I borrow it!

  2. I love it. It’s funny. That part never bothered me when I was a kid, but I don’t like saying it for my little buddy. And…. well, he and I both love a chocolate cake. We have just cracked the toddler prayers book you gave C a few years ago for Christmas, and it is delightful.

  3. We grew up with that prayer as well. When Steve and I had our first baby he introduced her to a prayer he grew up with, and 13 years later it is still our night time routine….

    Jesus, tender sheppherd hear us.
    Bless your little lambs tonight.
    Through the darkness be thou near us.
    Keep us safe ’til morning light.

Leave a Reply

