Eden — Twenty Three Months

Here we are, the LAST month before our girl is TWO. I think that’s when I get to write and say, “She’s two.” Yeah? Eh. Not sure.

A disclaimer for this post…and every post that involves updating Eden’s new skills/interests/adorableness: this is my only thing. This is it. This is my one little area of mommy-awesomeness. This disclaimer is to embolden, encourage, inspire any mommies/aunts/grandparents who want to mark their special child’s growing-up-ness…but these posts cause angst because said adult is failing to keep up with said tot’s month-by-month progress. Eden will likely never get anything cutesy (unless it comes from Aunt Shea-Shea or Aunt Kelli); she will likely never get a baby book nor photo album of any sort; she will likely not receive, upon moving out of the house, a collection of her childhood writings/artwork. I love to observe. I love to write. I love Eden. This is the one thing I can do. And I’m happy I can do it. Cause the girl is not gonna have many other momentos of this sweet time. So, what’s your thing? Find it. Do it. Enjoy it!

And back to our darling girl…this past month has been precious for us. It is likely the last month we will spend as a party of three. Phil and I will get our foster-home-license this week…and we’ll be open for babies! And so, we have savored each moment with a bit more awareness of the brevity of life’s seasons. As I tell Eden when we have finished something really fun (and she wants more, more, more of it), “Let’s stop and think about what we just did. Wasn’t that fun? Thank you, God, for ______,” and we sit for a moment (or second) before moving on to our next adventure. This whole past month has been our take-a-moment-to-think-about-what-we-did-and-be-grateful.

Eden and Phil checking out an Army helicopter.
Eden and Phil checking out an Army helicopter.
Our beloved pumpkin patch in early October.
Our beloved pumpkin patch in early October.
Feeding deer at Ft. Sam Quadrangle.
Feeding deer at Ft. Sam Quadrangle.
First up-close encounter with a deer at Ft. Sam Quandrangle.
First up-close encounter with a deer at Ft. Sam Quandrangle.
Washing hands/dishes/splashing/gettingwatereverywhere!
Washing hands/dishes/splashing/gettingwatereverywhere!
Our beloved pumpkin patch on October 31. We said bye-bye.
Our beloved pumpkin patch on October 31. We said bye-bye.
Cute kitty cat and her scarecrow. We visited him daily. DAILY.
Cute kitty cat and her scarecrow. We visited him daily. DAILY.
Eden as a precious kitty cat!
Eden as a precious kitty cat!
"I'm not sure about this whole thing, Mom."
“I’m not sure about this whole thing, Mom.”
Walking home after picking out our pumpkins.
Walking home after picking out our pumpkins.
Out for one of our daily excursions.
Out for one of our daily excursions.
Eden wearing Nana's shoes (and Daddy's hat.)
Eden wearing Nana’s shoes (and Daddy’s hat.)
This is the best shot I could get. I tried!
This is the best shot I could get. I tried!

At twenty three months, Eden:

  • loves the movie Lady and the Tramp. We watch part of it…okay…all of it…at least once a day. What can I say? I get sucked right into it with her. I love how she knows what’s coming next.
  • loves the song “Bella Notte” from Lady and the Tramp. When the chorus begins she ADORABLY sings “Oh night!” She insists on sitting on my lap for this part…and that I sing.
  • has started singing…sorta. She loves music and I sing to her ALL THE TIME, but she has never really joined in. Right now, her singing is kind of a moan. Soooooooooo cute.
  • declares “Daddy fix” whenever she comes upon something that is broken.
  • climbs like crazy these days. She climbed the REALLY TALL slide at the park. The one that I cannot help but stand below the peak in order to catch her should she drop TWELVE FEET.
  • speaks more and more. We understand her more and more.
  • has had a dramatic reduction in back-wash-edness. I can give her a drink of my water now and it comes back to me with very few floaters. Yea!
  • loves the pumpkin patch. Again, the HUGE Methodist church around the corner has provided us with joy, joy, joy. The church has a pumpkin patch for the month of October. We walked over their daily…sometimes two times, and enjoyed the pumpkins, the hay, the kids, the dogs, the scarecrow, the weather! (This was a really hard thing to let go of…on November 1st.)
  • can catch a ball when one is tossed to her. Miss Nancy, our favorite librarian, was the first to discover this. She tossed a ball to Eden several times, then BOOM, Eden caught it.
  • says “Bless you, Mama” when I sneeze.
  • calls Phil either Daddy Daw or Daddy Dah.
  • helps with doggy-poo-poo-patrol. She puts her hand in the trash bag and I help her pick it up. It grosses her out to pick it up all by herself, but she insists that she gets to pick it up “with mama.”
  • got a fun yard toy from the Dormans’…a little house. She has rituals with the house = Two-Two MUST come in through the door. Eden serves pretend cupcakes in the house. She likes to leave the house, waving to me, and shouting “Bye” as she walks to the edge of the yard. I always tell her “Thanks for coming.” Once she makes it to the edge of the yard, she makes a mad dash for me, yelling “Hi” as she collapses on my lap. Sigh.
  • has done her first front-roll. She was on a down-hill-slope, which helped. She’s tried doing them around the house, but has not had much success. I think the down-hill-slope is a must.
  • can work a zipper.
  • washes dishes and hands and anything you give her. She loves to be at the sink…playing in the water. One time, I stepped out of the room which she was playing at the kitchen sink. When I stepped back in, I found her in the sink, sitting on a pile of dirty dishes…happy as could be.
  • talks with her hands…very emphatically. This is apart from her signing…this is a totally different and new beast. I LOVE to watch her do it.
  • likes me to blow on her owies. It happened by accident. She fell down in the dirt, so her hands were messy. I blew on them…so now she thinks all owies need a good blow.
  • likes to swing between me and Phil…the ol’ “One, Two, Three, SWING” thing.
  • faithfully performs after-meal chores. She carries our spoons and forks to the sink and “throws” them in. Sometimes it takes a throw or two to actually hit the sink. Then she throws away any trash and pushes in the chairs. SO CUTE.
  • can puke at will. Sigh. I am learning to pack a change of clothes for church…both Kids’ Day Out AND Sunday school, as these are the times she is most likely to puke. She’s always been a cry-puker…and I feared one day she would learn the power of a puking child. Sigh. She learned it. She uses it.
  • loves her “babies”. She has two baby dolls that she takes most everywhere.
  • takes a daily walk to see if Mr. Elvis (her favorite cat) is home. He lives a few houses down, and Eden adores him…and he seems to adore her. He is very affectionate toward Eden, which delights my heart. It’s a love fest with those two.
One thought on “Eden — Twenty Three Months

  1. This was so fun to read! My daughter is 22 months šŸ™‚
    I have to admit — I laughed at Eden puking on command! I’m sure it’s not that funny while it’s happening šŸ™‚ So bizarre to me!

Leave a Reply

