You Come Too

Ah, the simple beauty of invitation. We’ve been fostering for about a month now…and it has been a powerful experience…eye-opening…but not in the way I expected. My eyes have been open to the wonderful/terrible truth…the power to change a life forever is easier than we dared hope…it is so plain and before us that we miss it. All it takes, to change a life…to change the world…is an invitation, “You come too.” It goes something like this:

“Hey, I’m living this life. It’s alright. I pretty much follow the same routine most days. I get up and work out; go to work; come home for dinner, relax, then go to bed. Pretty much everyday, that’s what I do. Hey, you come too!

Or it could look like this:

“So, we’re living this life. We kinda do the same thing every day. Get up and get the kids ready for school. Drop them off and go to work. Pick the kids up after school. Go home, the kids play while I make dinner. The husband gets home. We eat, play, bath, then bed. Hey, you come too!

Or…something like this:

“So, I’m living this life…” Okay, you get it. The deal is, we are all living life. Just bring someone along for the journey. Change one life, change the world. That’s all I’m saying. (It sure is fun.)

The Pasture

I’m going out to clean the pasture spring;
I’ll only stop to rake the leaves away
(And wait to watch the water clear, I may):
I shan’t be gone long. — You come too. 

 
I’m going out to fetch the little calf
That’s standing by the mother. It’s so young,
It totters when she licks it with her tongue.
I shan’t be gone long. — You come too.

ROBERT FROST

Leave a Reply

